Predestination Means that we are Passive and Weak

One evidence that we do not have “freewill” is that our deaths are not “voluntary” but forced up on us from the outside.  We are more like spectators than participants in our own dying. Judged before we were born, our only hope is the power of God to give us life that we do not now have.

Romans 8:26 Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.

1 Corinthians 1:25 For the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men.

1 Corinthians 2:3

And I was with you in weakness and in fear and much trembling

2 Corinthians 11:30

If I must boast, I will boast of the things that show my weakness.

2 Corinthians 12:5

On behalf of this man I will boast, but on my own behalf I will not boast, except of my weaknesses.

2 Corinthians 12:9

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

2 Corinthians 12:10For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities.

2 Corinthians 13:4

For he was crucified in weakness, but lives by the power of God. For we also are weak in him, but in dealing with you we will live with him by the power of God.

Explore posts in the same categories: resurrection

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Predestination Means that we are Passive and Weak”

  1. markmcculley Says:

    Many Calvinists assume that Jesus whipped human beings in the temple. For them, it is plainly evident in the text itself. In point of fact, this is precisely not the case at all. There is absolutely no reason to understand Jesus whipping people in this account, There is a strand of Christianity, popular in America, which refuses to picture Jesus as “weak” or “defenseless,” and prefers to re-conceptualize Jesus as a macho guy like themselves..

    Mark Driscoll “ Some emergent types want to recast Jesus as a limp-wrist hippie in a dress with a lot of product in His hair, who drank decaf and made pithy Zen statements about life while shopping for the perfect pair of shoes. In Revelation, Jesus is a pride fighter with a tattoo down His leg, a sword in His hand and the commitment to make someone bleed. That is a guy I can worship. I cannot worship the hippie, diaper, halo Christ because I cannot worship a guy I can beat up.”

    Here’s the problem with the Macho Jesus theology: It’s a false Jesus. The biblical Jesus does lay down his life, and does not whip people. If a person is unable to worship a Jesus who chooses self-sacrificial love , then that person cannot follow the true Jesus.

  2. markmcculley Says:

    I don’t have a death wish. I want to live. I won’t be with Jesus any sooner after I die. Jesus comes again to earth for all His saints. . If somebody kills me, that is not me committing suicide. Do you think Jesus committed suicide by only having the two swords. Don’t tempt God by ignoring his commands. Tempting God is not trying to do for yourself what you can’t trust God to do.

  3. markmcculley Says:

    E. W. Kenyon—if you talk weakness you will be weak. Why? Because you are a spirit being not a physical being. We have sung “near the cross” but the cross has no salvation in it. It is a place of failure and defeat. When we go into partnership with God, and learn His way of doing business, we cannot be failures. Don’t just listen. Act on the word. Be doers of the word.”
    Kenneth Copeland—The biggest failure in the whole Bible is God. The only reason you don’t think of God as a failure is God never says any negative thoughts about being a failure.”


Leave a Reply

